Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 13th, 2009

I like to shop

ricebasket

antique wooden rice basket – brought home and very wabi-sabi.

Not too far from Queenscliff is Ocean Grove, and on the way there we stumbled over the motherload.  MOTHERLOAD I tell you.  I was hyperventilating and so distracted that a second trip had to be made.

Some of my favourite things:

vintagekokeshitall

Vintage Kokeshi dolls.

vintagekokeshi

More kokeshi dolls – some were truly bizarre

thimblerings

Vintage thimble rings – one metal, one leather. Brought home.

kyospool

wooden spools – so beautiful I wanted them all – and didn’t end up with even one….

silkshuttle

weaving shuttles. stunning.

kyowood

not sure what these are – my guess would be for weighting warp threads while weaving?

kyoshoes

Moroccan shoes.  Too pretty, but not very comfortable….

kyodoor

morroccan doors, and a really large range of iron vessels of different shapes and sizes.

torayabuttons

vintage buttons – brought home and to be used on a project which is speeding along nicely (to be blogged another day)

woodstamps

hand-carved indian wood stamps. Brought home.  I so want to try these out and can’t find my ink-pad anywhere.  Anyone out there know where it is?

silkspool

And a silk spool, brought home.  To beautiful to leave, and completely useless in daily life.

The variety and beautiful bounty to be found at KYO is astonishing.  I didn’t even have my camera out for more than a few minutes or you would have seen antique Japanese furniture, kimono, ceramics and sewing boxes that were beyond precious and so dainty.  You probably won’t be going down that way any time soon.  Neither will I, but it’s calling me from afar already, and you can visit their website here.

Don’t you just love it.


Read Full Post »